Scholarship for Higher Education (SHE)

This is given by the Department of Science and Technology, for pursuing BSc/BSc (Hons)/Integrated MSc in Natural/Basic Sciences in subjects like Mathematics, Statistics, Physics, Chemistry, Earth Sciences and Life Sciences. The award is made based on the performance in Board examinations. Those coming within the top 1% for each State/Central Board examination at Class X and Class XII, those performing to specified standards in specified competitive examinations (like JEE Main, JEE Advanced, NEET UG etc) within stipulated cut off ranks (up to 10000 in the Common Merit list, National Level Competitive Examinations), those getting admission to the 5 years Integrated MSc Programs in Basic & Natural Sciences at all Indian Institute of Technology (IITs), Indian Institute of Science Educations & Research (IISERs), National Institute of Science Education & Research (NISER), Department of Atomic Energy-Centre for Basic Science (DAE-CBS), Other National level test conducted by any University or Academic Institute for admission to Under-Graduate or Integrated M.Sc Programme in Natural Sciences and Basic Sciences), and those getting specified scholarships/fellowships (like Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojna (KVPY) Fellows, National Talent Search Examination (NTSE) Scholars, Olympiad Medalists, Jagadis Bose National Science Talent Search (JBNSTS) Fellows etc) are eligible to apply for the scholarship.

Applicant must be already enrolled into Degree level education in Natural/Basic Sciences in any of the recognized institutions in India. Applicant must have joined Degree level courses in Natural/Basic Sciences in any recognized Indian institution. The courses approved does not include courses in Engineering, Medicine, Technology and other Professional courses

Scholarship value is Rs 80,000, per annum. Of this, cash value payable Rs 60,000 per annum. Rs 20,000 will be paid to the mentoring institution for undertaking summer time project. All SHE scholars have to undertake Summer time attachment to an active researcher in recognized research centers in the country. Scholarships will be given to about 10000 persons for a maximum period of five years.